Taking America Back One Bit At A Time _ Part 1, Introduction

(Hours without power today. Sorry about the lare post.)

On November 26, 2012, I wrote a post titled Is It Time For Conservatives to Start Thinking Long Term? Support from my readers was less than I had hoped it would be. As part of that post, an article by Andrew Klavan was linked and I asked that readers review and share their opinions  on Klavan’s long view plan for taking back America. Klavan addressed three areas of gradual attack: bringing balance back to news media, bringing balance back to the entertainment industry, and bringing our Judeo-Christian God back into our culture. All lofty goals to be sure. For my part, I wrote about the process of creating short-term, mid-term, and long-term plans.

One commenter to the post was by a dear friend and long time supporter of this blog. She wasn’t buying what I was selling. She said her opinion was we would never get our country back in bits and pieces. She believed that our only chance was to rebuild after a total collapse. That opinion is shared by many. I am less than optimistic about that possibility and so, in part, I am embarking on this series of post to try to do a better job of convincing my friend and as many others that I can, that the long-term approach I am talking about is the most likely path to an American Renaissance some day.

Another long time friend showed his frustration with Klavan’s ideas. Paraphrasing, he said something like this: “Jim, do you seriously think we are going to change the way people think? What is Klavan thinking? That is crazy talk.” But why is it crazy talk? Isn’t that the way America was taken from us; by a small  group of people who believed over time they could change the way Americans think? Isn’t that how they changed our culture? They were dedicated to an idea and committed to their long-term mission. Are we any less intelligent than they?Can we not be just as dedicated to a mission that some future generation will know once again the beauty of the idea that is or was America? Some argue that part of our problem is our belief in individualism and because of our individualistic nature we have problems working together for a common goal.  Can conservatives be so blind and dull that we can not see that the only way for future generations to have the opportunity to enjoy the fruits of individualism is by working collectively with as much commitment to the mission of taking America back over time.

So, with that in mind, I have an initial outline of what I want to do with this series of articles.  I will start Part 2 with a review of the Making of America and the Taking of America. That may turn out to be two parts. I don’t yet know. Then there will be a part on what the concept of Taking Back America A Buit At A Time might look like. I will bring back Andrew Klavan’s article and talk about it in more detail. There may be a post where you and I can speculate what the period of chaos might be like after the debt addiction bubble breaks and before order is restored. Lastly, I’m thinking about a discussion of “leadership” and “salesmanship”. Two qualities in short supply that will be critical to the process of retaking America.

I can’t make any promises, but I intend to try to keep each post under a thousand words. I’ve not been very successful at doing that of late, but I am going to try. Maybe that way I can keep the reader’s interest.

Well,now you know what I’m thinking. What are your thoughts?

25 thoughts on “Taking America Back One Bit At A Time _ Part 1, Introduction

  1. Klavan’s three areas of gradual attack are not absent disturbing aspects. To implement as he specified, it seems to require a regulation of both the free market and individual liberty. The cure can be worse than the disease.

  2. You said ” “leadership” and “salesmanship”. Two qualities in short supply that will be critical to the process of retaking America.” I agree with you Jim, but even these depend on a population willing to listen and make the changes needed. Until we can get the people themselves to think differently, it will be a futile effort. No matter how good a salesman you are, you have to have someone interested in buying. People who close the door on you before you even get you pitch out, are already lost. I think that liberals are already at work to prevent us being able to reach our children as well as we would like, they are increasing their time with our children with this new push to increase the time that children spend in schools, and the UN is trying to ban books that give a positive view of traditional families. We are at war on every front and most people are not even aware of it, and over half of them do not seem to care.. I am afraid it is going to take a major loss of freedom in this country, and perhaps even more than that, for people to start caring, other than the ones that already do. God bless you and I am looking forward to your posts and I am sorry to be so negative.

    1. ” I agree with you Jim, but even these depend on a population willing to listen and make the changes needed.”

      That is why this will be a long term process, Patricia. We will have to get conservatism back in the media and entertainment industry and we will have totake back our education sysytem. That is where salesmanship comes in. All of us but most importantly our leaders must over time sell the principles of conservatism and make converts . Not easy and we shouldn’t expect it to be easy.

  3. I hate to be the party pooper, but there will be no ‘taking back’ the country. Time marches on, and Americans have never displayed a revanchist streak.

    If we want people to join us, we must adopt forward-looking language and practical programs. The philosophical stuff ain’t working.

    Please don’t take this as an insult, Jim. I enjoy reading you every day. You are a wise man and you are discussing things that need to be discussed.

    1. I just found your comment in my spam file. Don’t knoe ehy. I know where your coming from, Kurt. I don;t expect everyone to buy into this. To me, the debt bomb going off will change everything and, therefore, everything gors bank on the table, in my mind.

  4. It is possible. But very difficult to achieve. After all we’ve already lost the culture war and the left dominates the entertainment industry, they are our teachers, all the way from elementary school. to college and they run our government.

    Is is possible? Yes. But not probable.

  5. Of the tripartite frontal attack on liberalism for taking the country back by Klavan I only put value on two – education and the fourth power. Culture is a product of our history and education. Entertainment is secondary. But even the first two are surpassed by one human endeavor that affects everything we do and everything we are – the economy, or to put it less bluntly, our material well being and the capacity to advance it.

    The success or failure as a society is intimately tied to the success or failure as individuals in a material sense. It sounds harsh, but it is a fact. It is the higher success of the conservative approach to creating wealth that will better assist us in the preservation and ultimate triumph of the conservative values over those held by liberals.

    That is the line of attack – education can be guided, the fourth power can be purified, and our military capacity can buy us peace, only through the material superiority and well being of our people. Economic success, that is the real front from where all others will emanate.

    Perhaps, not poetic enough, but wealth provides the time to write poetry or discover vaccines against disease, or send those liberals to get a better and more balance education. The New York Times will go broke and the Wall Street Journal will prosper.

    1. I don;t disagree with you,John. But, our welth engine is in intensive care and I don’t believe it is going to survive. Before we canressurect it, we will have to work for years changing our culture back to some degree, in my opinion.

  6. I look forward to your articles on this Jim, but we have fallen so fare over such a long period of time that it may take more time to get back on track than we have left. But still we must fight for it of the end is already decided.

    1. “… it may take more time to get back on track than we have left.”

      I’m afraid, Steve, that is my point. We are not going to survive. When I talk about long term, I;m talking about how to take our country back after it crashes. I am sorry if I lead anyone to believe otherwise. When the dollar and the Euro are worthless, we enter a world no one has ever seen before.

  7. Jim,

    People practice contempt prior to investigation. Nothing will change until the SHTF. When the dollar disintegrates, hyper inflation occurs, and Bubba has to pay 200 bucks for his Keystone light- that will be when the change occurs.

    People don’t care about the slow changes taking place over a glacial time period. They are not going to expend any energy ala Klavan. Not. going. to. happen.

    Look at the moron I wrote about yesterday. He doesn’t think our country is bankrupt. The US continues to borrow 1.2 trilion year after after year after year and this dude thinks we are solvent. That we are fine. That this will all go away when we hit the Universal Lotto jackpot and the martians send us 100 trillion.

    That’s what you are up against. Moron nation. Having said all of that, I still love you and I hope you are well.

    Brian

    1. “Nothing will change until the SHTF.”

      Brian, you must be the third person to say that to me. Obviously I didn’t make myself clear from the beginning. I agree nothing big is going to happen until after TSHTF. In fact I don’t expect there to be a chance for an American Renaissance until oeder had been restored after TSHTF. Neither I nor most of my readers will be around to see it, if it happens. I do, however, believe there are things we can be doing to help pave the way for that opportunity to occur. So, stay tuned, mate, and force yourself to read the rest of this series and who knows, I might get lucky and turn you into a believer.

    1. I’m afraid the crash will come anyway. The real recovery will probably have to wait until some kind of order is restored. What we do between now and then will improve the chances that there will be a second chance to get it right.

  8. Jim,
    You said:


    On November 26, 2012, I wrote a post titled Is It Time For Conservatives to Start Thinking Long Term? Support from my readers was less than I had hoped it would be.

    I have theory as to why discussions in the blogosphere are so pessimistic….We on the Right side of the political spectrum are gobsmacked that Obama got re-elected. Thus, pessimism and futility are the prevailing attitudes now! Is it even possible in this age of Twitter and the mainstream media to have an American Renaissance? So many Americans appear to have Attention Deficit Disorder! An American Renaissance requires THINKERS!

    1. Amen and right now thinking is discouraged. They do not even think of the consequences of their own actions, much less how what they do will affect the future of their own community.

    2. Ar some point in this series of articles we will talk about how to wake some people up and the need to make converts (yhr modt like soutce of targets may be among those that did bot vote), and the need to find and develop leadership and salesmanship skills, and when we find someone with those qualities, how do we promote them so they are not only talking to the choir.

Leave a Reply

