“Tax Dodger” a poem by the Bard of Murdock

It’s Sunday and today’s poem by The Bard of Murdock gives us another reason to hate the IRS. This poem was originally published on December 8, 2012. Please be sure to read the article linked by the Bard before reading the poem.

+++++++++++++++

Tax Dodger

 .
 .
I have the unfair benefit
Of owning where I live;
It drains the hapless government
Like water through a sieve.
 .
For if I were to rent my place
From Ebenezer Scrooge,
The increase in my housing cost
Would certainly be huge.
 .
And as the spread is rather large
The taxman sees a gain:
Imputed Rental Income (Net),
Or some such term inane.
 .
The word imputed is the key,
For with it they contend,
I ought to pay them income tax
On what I did not spend.
 .
Although imputed income may
Increase the tax I pay,
I stand in awe of logic turned
In such an artful way.
_____________________________________________________________

Profile

My Photo
My goal is to produce poetical cartoons. I try to use metaphors and caricatures (or a politician’s own words) to address complex political and social situations. In this way, I sum up current events in humorous verse.
2 thoughts on ““Tax Dodger” a poem by the Bard of Murdock

Leave a Reply

