It’s Sunday with The Bard of Murdock

Sometimes it is just too darn hard to select just one of the Bard’s peoms to share with you. So, today I gave up and am sharing two. As always, befor sure to read the article links that the Bard provides before reading the poems. The folling two poems were originally published by The Bard of Murdock on Thusday, August 18 and Saturday, August, 20, 2001 repectively.

___________________________________________________

Charge of the Left Brigade

__________

 With apologies to Alfred, Lord Tennyson, author of The Charge of the Light Brigade.

_________
*
Half a mil, half a tril,
Half from our lenders,
Into a mountain of debt
Roared the big spenders.
Forward with stimulus!
Ramp up the printing press!
Into a mountain of debt
Roared the big spenders.
*
Forward the Left Brigade!
Hide from our debt downgrade.
Who in the country knows
We are the offenders?
Spend up the debt sky high.
Spend ’til the debtors cry.
Spend ’til the well is dry.
Into a mountain of debt
Roared the big spenders.
*
Unions to the right of us.
Teachers to the left of us.
Leftists stand in back of us,
As our defenders.
Boldly we stand and yell,
“Spend more to make us well!”
Into the jaws of debt,
Into the hearth of hell,
Roared the big spenders.
*
Stop not at double-A:
Spend ’til we can’t repay
Our vendors or lenders.
Push off the judgment day,
Beg, borrow and delay
Cry the big spenders.
*
_________
Other debt, deficit and spending posts:
     The Democrat
*
___________________________________________________

Alien Adventures

__________
___________
*
Oh, I believe in aliens,
Though none I’ve ever seen;
But I believe they fly about
And watch o’er my routine.
*
I tell my darling little boys
To always eat their peas,
Or aliens will come at night
And give their heads a squeeze.
*
I give advice to all my peers
To mend their evil ways:
Sell off the carbon-belching cars
That cause the summer haze.
*
If aliens see ocean tides
And seas begin to rise,
Or global warming ticking up,
They’ll cut us down to size.
*
So I’ve invested in a car
That runs on batteries.
I’ve bought a solar panel farm,
And planted fifty trees.
*
Please don’t deny that aliens
Or climate change is true:
They’ll circle all your crops at night
And then they’ll come for you.
*
I don’t believe in God above;
I’m waiting for some proof.
But aliens and such are real –
And now they’re on the roof!
*
__________
Other Mother Earth news:
___________________________________________________

Profile

My Photo

My goal is to produce poetical cartoons. I try to use metaphors and caricatures (or a politician’s own words) to address complex political and social situations. In this way, I sum up current events in humorous verse.
One thought on “It’s Sunday with The Bard of Murdock

Leave a Reply

