Ron Paul Unvails His “Plan To Restore America”

Finally!!! All day without an internet connection. So, better late than never I’ve put together a quick post on Ron Paul’s new plan to restore America.

The race for the Republican nomination for President is about to get very interesting. Candidate Herman Cain’s surge in the polls has revolved around the interest stirred in the electorate by his 9-9-9 Plan. Yesterday, candidate Ron Paul released his “Plan To Restore American” and it is bound to stir-up a lot of interest as well.

From this Fox News story, we learn some of the details.  The Fox News story leads to a link to WSJ article that requires on to be a subscriber to open and that, unfortunately leaves me out. Here are some of the highlights from the Fox News article:

  • Cut government spending $ 1 trillion per year
  • Eliminate the departments of Education, Energy, Commerce, Interior and Housing and Urban Development
  • Reduce the federal workforce by 10%
  • Stop foreign aid
  • End foreign wars
  • Extend Bush tax cuts
  • Reduce corporate taxes to 15% and allow repatriation of foreign capital tax-free
  • he would accept as his presidential salary only $39,336 instead of the allowed $400,000

You can get more information from this video I took from the RonPaul.com website. The first half of the video is worth watching. The second half is Q&A but unfortunate we can not hear the questions.

For full details of Paul’s “Plan To Restore America” I direct you to the complete pdf copy of the plan here. Paul’s plan is in effect a complete budget for what would be his four-year term. There are some excellent tables, graphs and, charts. One chart I think will interest most conservatives shows Paul’s plan for defense spending. Paul and his backers have always claimed that he is strong on national defense but he does not support militarism. There is a chart at the bottom of the page shows that he would anticipate defense spending to be at the same levels as it was in 2006-2007 but without the wars we are involved in today.

I don’t know about you but I am very pleased that Ron Paul has finally released his plan. The surge in the polls for Herman Cain demonstrates to me that Americans want to see some concrete plans and not just more political jawboning. Romney supposedly has a 59 point plan but i have yet to see it and it has not attracted much attention. We now have two bold plans on the table so I say: Let the Debates Begin! I have no doubt that the Paul plan will receive a lot of criticism.  And that is a good thing.  Once I know more, I may have some criticisms myself. it will be interesting to see what happens in this next debate.

Well, that is what I’ thinking. What are your thoughts?

13 thoughts on “Ron Paul Unvails His “Plan To Restore America”

  1. I am eagerly awaiting the debate with the hope that I will learn something that will lead me towards someone. So far I feel as if I am in a holding position and just waiting for someone to impress me enough that I can lean in their direction. Notice I didn’t say fall, I intend to reserve judgement and a final decision as long as possible!

  2. So far it’s the only plan I have seen with the kind of spending cuts need. I love the salary cut, a politician should never make more than the average salary of their constituents.

  3. Ron Paul is the only true constitutionalist in the bunch. However, he scares me a bit with his “hands off” approach to foreign policy. I do believe we are overengaged both monetarily and militarily overseas, but I do not buy his total ostrich stance. On domestic & fiscal issues, he’s a home run.

  4. Don’t hold your breath about any debate on it…the last thing the establishment wants is serious discussion about our soon to be $16 Trillion+ debt problem.

    1. Joey, thanks for coming by and sharing your thoughts. I agree that the establishment doesn’t want this debate to take place, which is why we the people must force the debate to occur. I think we will see it happen.

Leave a Reply

