“Another Federal Fix” _ a poem by The Bard of Murdock

The following poem was originally published by The Bard of Murdock on Tuesday, November 1, 2011. Please be sure to read the article linked by the Bard before reading the poem.

**********

 **********

Another Federal Fix

*
I sold my soul to scientists
And government decrees,
To save the years I have in life
From hunger and disease.
*
I could not trust my fellow man,
Nor trust the marketplace,
For I could never quantify
Economies or grace.
*
Instead, I worshiped at the shrine
We know as FDA,
And bowed to pious bureaucrats
Who dither and delay.
*
They wrote commandments by the score
To regulate the use
Of every drug and treatment plan
The market could produce.
*
And then they showered price controls
On every shot and pill
The chemists and their companies
Could mingle or distill.
*
Who knew the Great Bureaucracy
Would kill the drug supply,
Or leave the ailing and the sick
To suffer and to die?
*
But now the one we call The One,
Has stepped into the fray,
Obama and his trusty team
Have come to save the day.
*
And with my faith and trust restored,
I’ll praise them, heart and soul;
For what can make the markets work
Like government control?
**********
Another FDA success story:
_____________________________________________________

Profile

My Photo

My goal is to produce poetical cartoons. I try to use metaphors and caricatures (or a politician’s own words) to address complex
political and social situations. In this way, I sum up current events in
humorous verse.
2 thoughts on ““Another Federal Fix” _ a poem by The Bard of Murdock

  1. Hmmm… Set price control to where no one can make money making drugs, and then hound them with legions of bureaucrats wielding libraries full of regulations, and we end up with shortages! Huh? Whodathunkit?

    Barack Obama is the Hugo Chavez of North America. There is no way he and his coterie of panjandrums can be so economically ignorant.

Leave a Reply

