Mysteries Emanating from the Land Down Under

Australia has always fascinated me and I regret that I never took the opportunity to spend some time there. The Land Down Under has many strange and exotic animals. Some of the are cute, some are funny to watch, some I am sure are a nuisance and, some of them are very dangerous. included in this last category, I would guess, are the wild dogs known as dingoes.

The first mystery I want to share has to do with the dingo. Yahoo News today is carrying the story about the death of a 9-week-old baby back in 1980. The parents claimed, at the time, that while they were camping in the out back, dingoes took the baby from their tent. Apparently, neither the authorities or anybody else was buying the dingo story and the mother was charged and convicted of murdering her baby. Then we are told, without any details, that the mother was cleared of these charges. The parents never stopped claiming that it was dingoes that killed their baby and at their insistence the court was convinced to reopen the investigation of dingoes attacking humans and hired an investigator who has now reported the following:

Although it (a dingo killing a child) may have been regarded as unlikely in 1980 … it shouldn’t be by 2011-12,” he said. “With the additional evidence in my submission, your honor should accept on the balance of probabilities that the dingo theory is the correct one.”

So, mystery solved? Maybe  and maybe not.  I think the real mystery here is  what were these imbeciles (the parents) doing camping in the out back with A 9-WEEK-OLD BABY! At the very least, these people should be charged with the wrongful death of their child. UNBELIEVABLE!

The second Aussie mystery I want to share has to do with their vry-to-the -left Prime Minister, Julia Gillard. In the last month or two I bookmarked an article from the You Decide blog. I owe somebody a hat tip but for the life of me I don’t remember who that is. Sorry! The following quotes are attributed to  the Australian Prime Minister back in September of last year:

‘IMMIGRANTS, NOT AUSTRALIANS, MUST ADAPT.. Take It Or Leave It.I am tired of this nation worrying about whether we are offending some individual or their culture. Since the terrorist attacks on Bali , we have experienced a surge in patriotism by the majority of Australians. ‘

[…]

We speak mainly ENGLISH, not Spanish, Lebanese, Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, Russian, or any other language. Therefore, if you wish to become part of our society . Learn the language!’

Most Australians believe in God. This is not some Christian, right wing, political push, but a fact, because Christian men and women, on Christian principles, founded this nation, and this is clearly documented. It is certainly appropriate to display it on the walls of our schools. If God offends you, then I suggest you consider another part of the world as your new home, because God is part of our culture.’

‘We will accept your beliefs, and will not question why. All we ask is that you accept ours, and live in harmony and peaceful enjoyment with us.’

‘This is OUR COUNTRY, OUR LAND, and OUR LIFESTYLE, and we will allow you every opportunity to enjoy all this. But once you are done complaining, whining, and griping about Our Flag, Our Pledge, Our Christian beliefs, or Our Way of Life, I highly encourage you take advantage of one other great Australian freedom, ‘THE RIGHT TO LEAVE’.’

‘If you aren’t happy here then LEAVE. We didn’t force you to come here. You asked to be here. So accept the country YOU accepted.’

WOW!

The mystery I am referring to in this case has two parts.  First, these words from the leftist Prime Minister must have made headlines around the world. Why do I not recall hearing about this back when the words were spoken? But, the more important mystery to me is this. How is it possible that the liberal Prime Minister of Australia had the courage to stand up to the culture destroying immigrants in her country but no other world leader seems to have the cojones to do the same?

Well, that’s what I’m thinking. What are your thoughts?

15 thoughts on “Mysteries Emanating from the Land Down Under

  1. I do now that Australia seems to be under attack by the Agenda 21 people, trying to control sheep flatulence, etc. Sounds like the PM there isn’t on the multicultural bandwagon, which is why this didn’t make headlines, don’t forget who owns the media.

    From what we’ve been studying in our Apologia Sea Creatures book, I think I’d be scared to death to go to Australia, too much poisonous stuff (death within minutes) can sting you on the beach..

    Camping with a 9 week old: Wouldn’t do it with my first two kids, but when you get enough kids, having a baby becomes less of a reason not to do things. I climbed House Mountain near Knoxville with my 9 week old in the carrier, but there was just lots of poison ivy and no dingos, cone fish, jellyfish from the deep etc. to get me. Just a one mile vertical hike.. I live such an exciting life. lol

  2. I take it there is a subliminal message from the first part of your post, to the second point? Hehehe 🙂 Either way, I am on board with you. The world is a dangerous place for all those who do not keep up with the dangers that lurk for those who choose not to stay informed. I hope I got it Jim? 🙂

  3. I thought it was one of the PM’s before Gillard, Prime Minister Howard, that spoke these words, but a Google search suggests that the speech may have been an urban legend. Some sources say there is some truth to it.

    I don’t think there is any way Gillard could have spoken those words without falling over, dead.

  4. I published that myself when it was going around Jim, about the prime minister I mean, but like the story that goes around about Bill Cosby, it is probably a manufactured item. Although, unlike the Cosby one, I have never seen a denial by Gillard!
    As far as the baby, I remember that story from when it happened, there were a lot of questions then, but it wasn’t that uncommon for people that did a lot of camping out to have their kids out with them. The truth, I don’t know, if it had been here and they had claimed that a mountain lion did it, or wolves, I would not have had any problem believing it, if there was evidence. I understand that dingo’s are scavengers, perhaps they were also opportunistic!

      1. My family was raised mostly in the country in New Mexico, Jim. Where they lived it was eighty miles to a hospital, at least 40 to a doctor, after 5th grade it was eighty miles to school, and the nearest general store was about 40 miles as well. They had to be prepared to be snowed in in the winter and not get out for at least a couple of weeks.. They were people that lived outdoors and spent their time on ranches. They didn’t consider camping out with a two month old child a very big deal. My family traveled a lot, when I was growing up, but I very seldom remember staying in a motel or hotel. If we were near family, we might have stayed with them. But mostly we camped out.

  5. I too doubt Gillard said that, but it still speaks a fundamental truth: You do not have the right to not be offended, and you do not have the right to demand you new country conform to the stinking, murdering, ignorant backwards-ass culture you escaped from.

  6. About the parents dumb enough to go camping with a nine-week old baby that is similar to a story that happened in New York State in the Catskills a few years back. Idiot parents went camping with their young child (maybe two or three) and the child was dragged away and mauled by a black bear. (Or should I say bear of color……I don’t want to offend anyone.)

  7. I doubt he said that. :Immigrants must depart” is very different from “immigrants must assimilate”.
    Non-immigrant white Australians have a very low fertility rate, and they do bring immigrants from all over. My high school math teacher ended up moving there with his family.
    I’m not sure how religious they are there. I went a few years ago (nice people, great food, exotic landscape). We were on a tour passing by old churches turned discos. It’s not too different here, though.

Leave a Reply

