“The Render Wagon” _ a poem by The Bard of Murdock

Today’s poem by The Bard of Murdock is a satire on the  euthanasia practices of the Dutch. It was originally published on Monday, March 12, 2012.

The Render Wagon

*
*
The render wagon’s on its way
To pick up dear old dad.
He’s lived a long and useful life,
And ending it is sad.
*
But now he’s spending his estate
On healthcare profiteers,
To ease the pain and suffering
In these, his later years.
*
And when his money’s spent and gone
He may just turn to me,
For room and board and God knows what,
That he’ll expect for free.
*
So now I’ve called the mobile team
To have dear dad consigned
To doctors who perform the task
We Dutch call Levenseinde.
*
And when he’s gone, I’ll miss him so,
But I shall be consoled,
By all the guilders I can count
When vader’s things are sold.
*
And then I plan to emigrate
Across the Zuiderzee,
Beyond the reach of children who
May do the same to me.
*
*
Other end-of-life posts:
______________________________________________________

Profile

My Photo

My goal is to produce poetical cartoons. I try to use metaphors and caricatures (or a politician’s own words) to address complex political and social situations. In this way, I sum up current events in humorous verse.
2 thoughts on ““The Render Wagon” _ a poem by The Bard of Murdock

Leave a Reply

