“What’s a Lad to Do” a poem by The Bard of Murdock

Today’s poem by The Bar of Murdock laments the nanny state’s indoctrination of our children. It was originally published on Friday, March 23, 2012.

What’s a Lad to Do?

*
*
My civil disobedience
Began at six or so.
The teacher said, “No best of friends.”
I told her where to go.
*
And then they tried to confiscate
The lunch my mother packed.
I ate it there beneath my desk,
And heard the riot act.
*
They banned the sale of lemonade
I offered at my stand.
I moved my trade to alleyways,
For those with cash in hand.
*
And when I’m feeling devilish
Enough to make them sore,
I mention there’s a Father, Son,
And Spirit I adore.
*
These bits of nonconformity
Have shaped my point of view:
I never trust the government,
But what’s a lad to do?
*
*************************
Other related posts:
_____________________________________________________

Profile

My Photo

My goal is to produce poetical cartoons. I try to use metaphors and caricatures (or a politician’s own words) to address complex political and social situations. In this way, I sum up current events in humorous verse.
2 thoughts on ““What’s a Lad to Do” a poem by The Bard of Murdock

  1. Yes our indoctrinated education. Don’t forget to throw in the media bias and Hollywood to our brainwashing.

    “But its based on a true story” lol

Leave a Reply

