“Biblical Budgeting” a poem by The Bard of Murdock

It’s Sunday and todays poem by The Bard of Murdock relates to recent criticism of Paul Ryan’s budget plan by a Catholic progressive group. The poem was originally published on Monday, April 16, 2012. Be sure to read the article link provided before reading the poem.

___________________________

Biblical Budgeting

*
To counter Ryan’s budget plan
I combed through Mark and Luke,
I exegeted line and verse
To ready my rebuke.
*
But universal coverage
Could not my work divine,
Between the calls for charity
And water turned to wine.
*
I searched for nanny government
And health care as a right,
But Matthew never wrote of them
In ways that I could cite.
*
St. John was focused on the Word
And never took the time,
To speak of solidarity
On someone else’s dime.
*
I rather doubt, were they alive,
And part of this debate,
That Matthew, Mark and Luke and John
Would feed the Beast of State.
*
Other Paul Ryan posts:
___________________________________________________________

Profile

My Photo

My goal is to produce poetical cartoons. I try to use metaphors and caricatures (or a politician’s own words) to address complex political and social situations. In this way, I sum up current events in humorous verse.
5 thoughts on ““Biblical Budgeting” a poem by The Bard of Murdock

  1. As a Catholic, I agree with Ryan. It’s immoral to keep people in poverty. The Church is there to aid the poor (when the government allows them to.) But the government is taking the place of the Church and taking away the ability of the Church to do so. I can’t understand why the Church isn’t seeing that. I think Dolan has had an epiphany since the contraception issue, though. I think he’s finally getting it – the government is elbowing the Church out of it’s mission and trying to make it ‘get in line.”

    These people are wrong.

  2. The only system of government that I know of that can offer opportunities to get out of poverty is the system we have, or shall I say, had.

Leave a Reply

