“Flash Mobs” _ Race Riots, Terrorist Attacks, or Something Else? – Updated

I was provoked to write on Flash Mobs after reading an article by Dr. Thomas Sowell. I will get to the good Doctor’s point of view in a moment. For now, let me just say that he sees Flash Mobs as race riots that are not being reported as such.

Upon entering the words “Flash Mob Attacks” 1.2 million hits were found. I was surprised to learn, at least according to Wikipedia,  the term “Flash Mob” was originally coined to describe an innocent form of entertainment and were decidedly non-violent. That is not what we think of today when we hear or read those words. Today those words immediately bring to mind black youths converging on a store to rob it and yes to terrorize the customers and employees. And, far too often, it also describes black.-on-white violence. Hence, Dr. Sowell’s assertion that these actions are in fact race riots. But, could they be classified as terrorist attacks? The following quote comes from Right Side News:

Currently, these attacks are from predominantly black inner-city youths using social networks to coordinate the location, time and who does what. Same tactics terrorists use. This model can move to other “gang groups”, ethnic clans, and evolve into an extremely deadly end. (bold added)

“The same tactics as terrorist.” I rather doubt that these groups of  black thugs see themselves as terrorist. However, I have no problem imaging Janet Napolitano deciding some day to designate them as terrorist. Not because she and the Obama administration would necessarily be interested in cracking down on black-on-white crime; but to advance even more the police-state policies initiated under George W. Bush with the Patriot Act.

The store robbing is probably as much thrill seeking as anything else. But one can not deny the that the violent acts are racial in nature. This is worrisome on many levels not the least of which is the potential for white backlash. Some unsavory blogs are stirring the pot. This is a quote from one of them:

Here’s my plan.  If it’s the knife I attack.  I don’t waive it and try to intimidate a path open.  The scumbags all have knives I’d bet…and handguns.  Go for whoever is closest and stab them in the face.  Go right down the line stabbing any face you see as you clear a path.  If they are not running away they are a threat to your life.  They may eventually take me down but I guarantee I won’t be the only one bleeding at the end.  If it’s the handgun with me that day…same plan.  I shoot the closest person in the face and I get out alive. (Source)  [Please see update at the end of this post.]

Also, here is something else that worries me about this phenomena. Although in my limited search, I did not find anything to support my concern, I wonder how long it will be before white gangs and Latino gangs and Asian gangs decide to get in on the act. All we need is for the different gangs to try to out do each other to see who can make the biggest news splash.

Okay. Let’s focus on the inescapable racial aspects of Flash Mobs and Dr. Sowell’s take on the subject. After a series pf Flash Mob attacks during the Fourth of July celebrations in Milwaukee last year, he decided to do some research:

What I was appalled to learn, in the course of my research, was that such race riots have occurred in other cities across the United States in recent years — and that the national mainstream media usually ignore these riots.

Referring to Chicago, which has been plagued by Flash Mob attacks, Dr. Sowell says:

But neither these officials nor the mayor nor most of the media use that four-letter word, “race.” It would not be politically correct or politically convenient in an election year.

[…]

Where the violence is too widespread and too widely known locally to be ignored, both the local media and public officials often describe what happened as unspecified “young people” attacking unspecified victims for unspecified reasons. But videos of the attacks often reveal both the racial nature of these attacks and the racial hostility expressed by the attackers.

Avoiding the word “race” is not just a Chicago phenomena. If you have a few minutes check out this Video of a white victim of a mob attack and note that not once do the TV reporters mention the race of the attackers.

Sowell, too, is worried about the possibility of white backlash. This serious problem, which has the potential to get much worse, will not be solved by our media and our leaders, especially black leaders, sticking their heads in the sand. It would be beneficial if some of our black Mayors and maybe someone like Rep. Allen West would speak out on this issue. Instead we have idiots like Jesse Jackson and Al Sharpton fanning the flames. Most importantly, in my opinion, this issue needs to be addressed by those in the cities where the Flash Mobs have acted. Most cities have police who are specialized in working with the inner-city gangs. They along with respected black community leaders need to meet with the gangs and explain how Flash Mobs will come to a bad end. With today’s technology, security cameras can give the police the means to identify mob participants. And, as I mentioned earlier. If our government ever classified them as terrorist, these young fools could disappear into some military internment camp, never to be heard from again.

Well, that’s what I’m thinking. What are your thoughts?

UPDATE:

I have made a grievous error in describing a quote coming from an unsavory source. I am embarrassed and owe my apologies to the author of the article from which i took the quote. I had open what I thought were four white supremist blogs. I clicked on this article at random and looked for a quote to demonstrate my point of unsavoryness and because I got lazy and didn’t thuroughly review the article, I actually was quoting anrticle promoting the Krav Maga system of self defense. My error is unexcusable and I hope I never make such a dumb mistake again.

21 thoughts on ““Flash Mobs” _ Race Riots, Terrorist Attacks, or Something Else? – Updated

  1. I read this column yesterday. Dr. Sowell is always on the mark, always on target. We sure live in scary times and they get scarier because we (not you or me) are forced to be politically correct about it all. You see the words “flash mob” and what do you think? I’m sure the same thing I do – black unemployed youth. And no one will convince me that if these kids had jobs, they’d be doing this mobbing crap. But Newt was right – these kids have no work ethic. They’ve never seen a parent go off to work every morning and come home at night. Some 75% of them grow up in a one parent home with a parent who draws welfare. Fatherless homes is another cause of this problem.
    Directionless, unemployed, undereducated black kids = flash mobs.

  2. I recommend everyone read that Krav article. Krav Maga is an excellent self-defense discipline, btw. First, don’t go to bad parts of town where stupid people do stupid things. Second, be aware of your surroundings. Third, run at the first opportunity. Finally, when cornered or trapped, fight as your life depends on it with whatever is available.

    Our society is in retrograde, learn to defend yourself and your family.

    1. Kurt, I made a stupid mistake in using that quote and have updated the post with an apology to the author. I believe in people learning o defend themselves. But what has happened to our “civil” society if people ned to learn to defend themselves against mobs? My point was to point out that there are leaders in those communities who could help return civility to our society if they would.

    1. Apparently this is becoming all to common in Chicago. And copycats will keep repeating the behavior until there is a crack down and an honest discussion of the issue. Black leaders can do a lot to bring about order if they are willing.

  3. Hmmm, i am the author of the “unsavory blog” that you qouted. Interesting. I certainly wasn’t being racial and I truly am sorry if you think what i had to say was unsavory but I am trying to keep my students alive. Reading about the slaughter of innocents by these groups shoud scare us all. They have no remorse, no morals. If you hit the ground they will kick you until you die, laughing and recording it on their cell phones the whole time. I refuse to give my people bs politically correct advice. If they are ever in this horrible situation I have given the best advice possible, go off like an animal attacking anything close while trying to find a way out of the mess you are in. What is unsavory about staying alive?

    1. Sir, I owe you an aplogy although I will understand if you don’t accept it. I am usually very thurough in reviewing the articles I quote and today I got lazy. I have updated the post with a correction and apology. It reads as follows:

      “I have made a grievous error in describing a quote coming from an unsavory source. I am embarrassed and owe my apologies to the author of the article from which i took the quote. I had open what I thought were four white supremist blogs. I clicked on this article at random and looked for a quote to demonstrate my point of unsavoryness and because I got lazy and didn’t thuroughly review the article, I actually was quoting anrticle promoting the Krav Maga system of self defense. My error is unexcusable and I hope I never make such a dumb mistake again.”

      I respect very much what you are doing and I hope your students never have to defend themselves against a mob.

      1. Think nothing of it. Everybody doesn’t have to agree. I actually like people questioning things I write. It makes me think and the dialogue that comes out of it can help me look at angles i never would have without being questioned. In Krav Maga I never think I have all the answers. I look at what everyone else is doing, go to other system’s seminars and read everything I can get my hands on. If someone thinks they have all the answers and are infallible they will never grow. Keep up the good work!

  4. I have to agree with Bunkerville here, Obama is helping to promulgate these riots with his class warfare and I wouldn’t be surprised if he is doing it intentionally. These are riots and not “flash mobs” but of course the media won’t report it as such because they are providing cover for the most divisive president in our history. But if there is retaliation from a white groups eventually the media will jump all over it as an example of the racist opposition to the president while ignoring what spurred it on in the first place.

  5. Seems to me that most of these flash mobs happen in states or cities that don’t allow concealed carry, although the one in Jacksonville, Fla at the Wal-Mart is an anomoly in that respect. One of these days, a customer in one of these stores is going to say “I’ve had enough and I’m not going to take it anymore.”

  6. When you mention mob and Chicago in the same sentence, I think of the word provocateur. Don’t think for a minute that Rahm wouldn’t hire out some trouble to justify more force and less freedom. These big cities rife with liberal control freaks are the testing grounds. Recall that Chicago recently had a big “turn your guns in” event. Someone ought to check in on the work of Ed Hall, the anthropologist behind Occupy Wall Street.

  7. Everyone needs to condemn flash-mobs. The media should cover them. If young people partcipating don’t have shame — we need to help them find it.

  8. Hmm….I hadn’t thought of these as race riots, which are typically obvious with “Burn, baby, burn!” and the like — and the raised fist.

    But after reading Dr. Sowell’s essay, I conclude that these flash mobs are indeed race riots.

    And, yes, the mainstream media are the enemy. One blogger uses the term “enemedia,” and the term fits!

    Good post, Jim.

Leave a Reply

