“Supporting the Resistance” an essay by a Conservative Teacher

Today’s Guest Saturday post comes to us from the A Conservative Teacher blog. He originally published this essay on February 23, 2013.

**************

Supporting the Resistance

…We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.–That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed…

So said Thomas Jefferson and so said our Founding Fathers and so said America in 1776 and so say we all today!

Before government existed man lived in a state of nature. And in this state of nature, he had the god-given right to protect himself by whatever means necessary, including owning a firearm. This right to protect oneself against whatever might threaten his life, liberty, and property was not given to him by government as a privilege- this right existed before government was even around.

Government is created AFTER man already has certain rights, including the right to keep and bear firearms for self-defense of life and liberty and property. Government is created by men, for men, for the purposes of better protecting this right and others. Since it is difficult for me to stay home every day protecting my property with my gun, I instead consent to let the police and fire and military do this for me, and go to work and am productive and prosperous while still having my property protected. But I don’t give up my rights- if I wish to, I may instead choose to arm myself to protect my life and property better.

And the majority of the people around me can not vote to take away my rights, nor can unelected judges in a far off capital. The reason they can’t take away my rights is because those rights were given by God, and only God can take them away. For example, he takes away my right to live- it’s called dying. But my rights can be violated, by tyrannical governments or people, either criminals or despots, and this we must resist.

Our purpose is to resist tyranny and injustice and the breaking of rights- to fight against those who would hold others in bondage, to battle a government which desires to take our wealth and property to redistribute to others, to push for tougher sentencing against criminals, to fend off attacks by the government to enact policies which will take away our choices and liberties, and to resist efforts to take away our second amendment rights.

Support the resistance against tyranny and injustice and despotism and instead choose every day to fight for our god-given rights to keep and bear arms to protect our lives, liberty, and property!

4 thoughts on ““Supporting the Resistance” an essay by a Conservative Teacher

Leave a Reply

