“Catastrophic Coverage” a poem by the Bard of Murdock

It’s Sunday and in today’s poem by The Bard of Murdock, the Bard is not convinced by the claim that ObamaCare will improve marriage. This poem was originally published on Saturday, May 11, 2013. Please be sure to read the article linked by the Bard before reading the poem.

**********

Catastrophic Coverage

 .
 .
My wife revealed just yesterday
Proposals much like mine,
Had been by her received from men
Who ordered better wine.
 .
And not in wine alone was I
Below the standard mean,
But I was wanting in my choice
Of bistro and cuisine.
 .
My raiment had not measured up,
My tie was short of chic,
And further, to my lasting shame,
My prosody was weak.
.

So what possessed my lady love
To give her warm consent,
To stay with me in good or bad,
In joy or discontent?
 .
She acquiesced to be my wife,
And I to be her man,
To have and hold for all our years
For my insurance plan.
 .
But fate is like a fickle friend
Against our schemes deployed,
For since they passed Obamacare
I now am unemployed.
.
___________________________________________________________________________–

Profile

My Photo

My goal is to produce poetical cartoons. I try to use metaphors and caricatures (or a politician’s own words) to address complex political and social situations. In this way, I sum up current events in humorous verse.
Leave a Reply

