You Can’t Fix A Rotten Egg

Folks, I am having a very hard time finding a reason to keep blogging. This asylum I’ve been watching just keeps getting worse. The following is an excerpt from a recent post by Charles Hugh Smith of the blog Of Two Minds.

Of the roughly 142 million workers in the U.S., 38 million earn less than $10,000 per year, 50 million earn less that $15,000 a year and 61 million earn less than $20,000 annually. All these numbers are drawn directly from Social Security Administration payroll data.

100 million wage earners, or 2/3 the entire workforce, earn less than $40,000 per year.

Most of the heavy-lifting in terms of paying income taxes falls to about 30 million people, the top 20% of wage earners.

That my friends is a living picture of a rotten egg. Does anyone really believe it can be fixed at the ballot box? The only solution to a rotten egg is to replace it with a fresh egg.

And, that’s what I’m thinking. What are your thoughts?

35 thoughts on “You Can’t Fix A Rotten Egg

  1. I feel the same way Jim. I have just run out of material. You cannot keep talking about the same shit, day after day, after day. So I get it. Maybe just slow down. A couple a week up until the shit hits the fan later this year.

    That’s what I’m thinking.

    1. so, basically, 30 million workers are largely supporting 300 million population? 10%.

      What can’t go on forever, won’t.

      And yep, Frankenstein that’s what I did: slow down. It definitely helps.

      Linda

      1. You got it backward, sweetheart.

        300 million are supporting the 30 million. Buy a vowel.

      1. I recommend picking up the issue of Social Security. I encourage people to write about it because Social Security serves an audience that does not adapt well to change. If the govt doesn’t bail-out the idiot bankers in 2008, they evolve into something productive for society. The elderly and disabled do not evolve well.

  2. Things are a touch worse because the vast majority of the bills are going to the kids. Most of what you see about the 30 million supporting the 300 million is probably somewhat true. But the costs which are kept off-balance sheet reflect what future generations will pay for the 300 million.

    1. Thanks for coming by, Joe. In theory, I agree that the future generations are supposed to pick-up the tab; but they will never be able to pay it, in my opinion. Eventually something will have to give, don’t you think?

      1. I completely agree, and it is odd that one of the founding fathers, Thomas Jefferson, completely agreed with you as well. He write a letter to James Madison that said we shouldn’t allow one generation to bind another generation because at some point the later generations simply walks.

        My issue is Social Security which is a nightmarish mix of the short-term goals of politicians and the long-term needs of the elderly. The problem is that politicians do not care whether the system implodes or something gives as you say so long as they are out of office when it happens.

        The system is very screwed right now. Instead of admitting that we have a problem, the politicians are recasting the system as a ‘safety-net’. Not that Social Security can provide a safety-net, but complete and absolute failure will come later as a safety net than as insurance against old-age. Instead of fixing the refrigerator, we are going to call it a doorstop.

  3. Jim,
    I deeply hope that you won’t quit blogging.

    But I fully understand feelings of futility about doing what we conservative bloggers do. From time to time, I’m VERY tempted to quit. Then, I think of THIS, which summarizes in song the way that I live my life.

    As for the income figures cited in the body of the blog post, well, it is more evidence of the road to serfdom. So many in the United States are well down the road, and others will follow soon enough — through no fault of their own. We are seeing the harvest of FDR’s New Deal and LBJ’s Great Society — IN SPADES!

    1. I don’t want to stop blogging, AOW. This blog is what keeps me connecteed to America. But, it sure is hard finding something new to say, it seems. Maybe like you, I need to write about non-politics once in a while.

  4. A friend told me yesterday of a couple he knows. This couple is not married, has 3 children, both work at good salaried jobs making, together, over $120,000.00 per year. However, because they aren’t married, the woman is receiving government benefits for day care for the 3 children and food stamps which she sells on the side. So….what to do?

    I understand your frustration, Jim. But how else would we learn the great information that you post? Besides, you created a clutch of good buddies here…so you turned yourself into a café raison d’etre! So you can’t leave us…we won’t let you!!

    Smiles to you!! Cheryl

    1. You are too kind, Cheryl, but you are right. I have made some great friends through this blog. My problems is some days it seems that I’ve said all I know to say without repeating myself. I need some freesh material. I’ll get over it.

  5. So many good comments, and so little time to comment. It is a cruel world. Great comments from Joe, and all the others.

    Jim, I arrived at the point you describe some time ago, and have a bit of a different view of what to do about the common threads that run through our conservative posts. I, also, wearied of writing and ranting about the same things that you, AOW, Zee, and many others discuss daily. It is not that I don’t sympathize with all you, it is just that there are a lot of people doing a good, and necessary, job of addressing current events.

    It is even important for people like Ducky to drop by and lay a couple of eggs. He may be intractable in his views, but we need his perspective for contrast, i.e., someone who represents the ignorant side of things.

    I have recently been tempted to write about the obvious criminality of the Obama Administration’s vendetta against those who would oppose his narrative. It is almost like his values include the idea that he should NEVER tell the truth. It is likely that I will, occasionally, address these events, but I would rather write about ideas than the day-to-day lies of losers like Obama.

    My suggestion to you is to not stop blogging. Don’t get out of the habit like I have. It is important to keep it up. What I suggest is that you write a few articles about your life in Venezuela, not about negative stuff, but about the neat people around you,and the things you enjoy. Let your anger subside for a while, and soon you will have your approach vindicated, or changed.

    With the exception of the coverage of the Oklahoma tornadoes, I have pretty much stopped watching the news, or reading my newspaper. Now, I am less angry, and this allows me to approach the same issues with a different perspective.

  6. Its remarkable that so little is being earned by so many people while the disparity between the the rich and the poor continues to widen and Wall Street is happy as a clam as it sucks up $40B in free wealth from The Fed every month.

    1. I agree that the Fed has been feeding the wealthy. That will end some day soon, I think. What worries me is the effect technology is having on the jobs market. We are becoming a part-time minimum wage society. That is not healthy!

      1. The problem isn’t that the Fed is rewarding the rich it is that the Fed is rewarding the unproductive. Bankers do nothing productive. They create and cancel debt which simply shifts demand overtime. Goldman Sachs earns 80% of its profits on proprietary trading. Exactly how does the buying and selling of existing stock help capitalism? The winnings are returned to DC via lobbyists and campaign contributions, all of which creates nothing.

        In the 60s I am guessing that financials made up 5-10% of the S&P earnings, in 2008 it was nearly 25%. That is a heck of a lot of nothing for the rest of the economy to carry.

      2. I recently learned that the result of the recent melt-down in our financial system was that the big banks lost more money in one year than the entire banking system earned since the establishment of the republic. The government then rewarded the big banks with bailouts, and the executives of those banks rewarded themselves with big bonuses. Taxpayers paid for the whole charade. You can’t make this stuff up.

  7. I read in the bible once that it’s a sin to live your life everyday according to your dreams but as I was waking up today the saying ” you can’t fix a rotten egg” popped into my head. It kinda scared me. I hope I’m not a rotten egg. I’m 31 and I’m not working at the moment. Then I typed the saying on here and this is where it brought me. Should I just leave it be or take it seriously?

Leave a Reply

