“The Least Untruthful Answer” a poem by the Bard of Murdock

It’s Sunday and The Bard of Murdock opines on Clapper’s clap-trap. This poem was originally published on Sunday, June 16, 2013. Please be sure to read the article linked by the Bard before reading the poem.

***********

The Least Untruthful Answer

 .
 .
When questioned by the congressman,
I looked him in the eye,
And chose my answer carefully,
For I would never lie.
 .
And if you take the time to parse
Precisely what I said,
Across the line of perjury
My answer did not tread.
 .
I used the least untruthful word
That came into my mind,
Though not exactly in the way
That Webster ‘No’ defined.
 .
And then I added on the phrase

‘Not wittingly’ to show,
There may be other facts at hand
My answer would forgo.
 .
The supplemental use of ‘sir’
I paused to interject,
Was perfectly gratuitous,
Intended for effect.
 .
Though some may say I told a lie,
It may be said, at worst,
The meaning of the words I said
Was possibly reversed.
.
_________________________________________________________________________

Profile

My Photo

My goal is to produce poetical cartoons. I try to use metaphors and caricatures (or a politician’s own words) to address complex political and social situations. In this way, I sum up current events in humorous verse.
Leave a Reply

