“Worse for Wear” a poem by the Bard of Murdock

It’s Sunday and today’s poem by The Bard of Murdock challenges the nanny government’s insistence on controlling every aspect of our lives. The Bard first published this poem on Saturday, February 2, 2013. Please be sure to read the article linked by the Bard before reading the poem.

***************

Worse for Wear

 .
 .
At first it was my cigarettes,
And then it was my drink.
It seemed their plan was common sense.
I guess I didn’t think.
 .
I didn’t think they had a plan
To rearrange my life,
Said project being underway
With management by wife.
 .
But now they’ve turned their helpful hands
To what I drink and eat.
They plan to make potato chips
And soda obsolete.
 .
Granola bars and veggie snacks
And water make the list,
Approved by those in government,
On which I must subsist.
 .
But living someone else’s life
Does not appeal to me.
To die a little worse for wear
Is part of being free.
.
_____________________________________________________________________________

Profile

My Photo

My goal is to produce poetical cartoons. I try to use metaphors and caricatures (or a politician’s own words) to address complex political and social situations. In this way, I sum up current events in humorous verse.

One thought on ““Worse for Wear” a poem by the Bard of Murdock

Leave a comment