It’s Sunday with The Bard of Murdock

The following poem was originally published by The Bard of Murdock on Sunday, July 3, 2011. Be sure to read the article link provided by the Bard before reading the poem.

_____________________________________________________

 

Free the Seal!

____________________

______________________
*
I’m mortified, but I admit
I’m brainwashed through and through;
I’ve fallen for the holy writ
Of PETA and their crew.
*
A stronger man with steady heart
Would never cross the line,
But suffering can tear apart
This shallow heart of mine.
*
Not once, but twice the famous seal
Attempted to take flight,
And in those moments did reveal
Its agony and plight.
*
And so I say it loud and clear:
It’s time to Free the Seal!
I’ll give my life and my career
To end the seal’s ordeal.
*
I’ve signed up stars of stage and screen
To pose for pictures too,
Just like the dirty ads we’ve seen
The folks at PETA do.
*
I’m asking that the courts review
My right and just appeal,
And give the joy of freedom to
The Presidential Seal.
__________________________________________

Profile

My Photo

My goal is to produce poetical cartoons. I try to
use metaphors and caricatures (or a politician’s own words) to address complex political and social situations. In this way, I sum up current events in humorous verse.

One thought on “It’s Sunday with The Bard of Murdock

Leave a comment