Lest We Forget _ Sepetmber 11, 2001

My 9/11 Lesson Plan is the title of a recent post by A Conservative Teacher. It is an excellent read and I highly recommend it. In his lesson, he uses the video  In Memoriam – New York City, 9/11/01 (2002). I was able to find the In Memoriam series at You Tube and I present them here.

All six videos would take over 90 minutes to view.  You may not have 90 minutes right now, I understand. I hope you can, at least, watch the first and the last.

Some might say that it is a bit sadistic to relive the terrible events of September 11, 2001. No, it is not sadistic. It is necessary. Over three thousand people lost their lives that day. Their only crime was that they were living out their own individual version of the American dream. A dream that far too many Americans have lost sight of and far too many that never grasped the dream in the first place.

The attacks of 9/11 were much more than attacks on the Twin Towers in New York, the Pentagon and a failed attempt to hit the White House. What occurred on 9/11 was nothing less than an attack on the idea of America. It is something we should all take personally. Reliving the events through these videos helps us to understand on a personal level.

As A Conservative Teacher explains in his article, the attacks are not something that occurred ten years ago and are now a part of history. We are still living the history of 9/11. The history that started that days is not over yet. America changed on 9/11/01. Laws changed to “improve” our security but at the price of some of our liberties. Our perception of the world we live in changed. Our attitude toward the followers of Islam changed. We are still fighting a war in Afghanistan and around the world ten years later. The history is still being written and continues to affect each and every one of us personally.

We must never forget what happened on 9/11. Our children must be taught the importance of that day. We must pledge that we will never allow terrorism to destroy the American dream nor will we allow well-meaning statists to destroy it either.

I hope each of you will say a prayer for the victims and their loved ones today and , also, say a prayer for America.

May God bless each and every one of you and may God bless America.

25 thoughts on “Lest We Forget _ Sepetmber 11, 2001

  1. My thoughts and prayers go out to the families of loved ones who passed away on 9/11. We must never forget 9/11. We must always remember the evil which was thrust upon us on that day. We must not become complacent but in fact remain ever vigilant. September 11, 2001 changed America forever.

    God Bless America.

  2. Well said, Jim. I am afraid the current administration would like nothing more than for us to forget the events that transpired that day and the reasons they transpired. On the contrary, I agree with you. We should never forget, both what happened and who the culprits were.

  3. One of the things i have noticed over the years is that the US doesn’t want to take responsibility for Bin Laden. That we were more than happy to give him arms to shoot Russians with. Until that lunatic turned on us and why not? Sociopaths have a habit of doing shit like that.

    I hope that history tells the truth. That we nurtured this asshole and that eventually we had to execute him.

    I am tired of this history lesson. Really. Of all the things I have ever witnessed, this insane event still reigns supreme. A shitload of people dead on both sides, some more troops, it’s like a bad nightmare that never goes away.

      1. The point that I am trying to make is that the people of this country desperately want to escape any kind of responsibility for whack jobs like Bin Laden. They want to say, it’s not our fault in any way shape or form. We had no role in Bin Laden.

        Tree of Mamre says its like blaming a beaten housewife for her beatings. That is a poor metaphor. Personally, if you want to claim you are a victim and take beatings…then that is your choice. We all have choices to make. And Mamre hasn’t arrived at the conclusion that in life, there are no victims…only volunteers. Including beaten housewives. Gawd knows I dealt with 100’s of them.

        You have a choice and a role in everything that happens to you. I like John Madden here. He absolutely refused to fly. He made a choice. He was perfectly content traveling the country in a bus. He took responsibility for his own life and dying in a plane crash was not part of his plan.

        I am sorry if I can’t jump on the poor us bandwagon like 99% of Americans. We have been meddling in the middle east for decades and they have a saying. Keep going to the barbershop and sooner or later, you’re gonna get a haircut.

        Ever wonder why nobody screws with Switzerland?? Because Switzerland doesn’t screw with anyone. Funny how that works.

  4. I am certain that on that September day there were angels among us, and I would imagine that they too wept…

    I’m a big strong guy, but I am not the least bit bothered to tell you, I wept, from anger, from compassion, from a feeling of total helplessness, and yes, even fear, not fear for myself, but fear for my family and their immediate…

    I was 1,500 miles from home that day and all I could think of was getting home to my wife and making sure my children were safe, and I couldn’t do that…

    None of us knew what the future held, we still don’t, but I hope with all my heart that these same angels are with us now…

    I can’t speak for all Americans, but I know that I am still hurting, every day that goes by I remember 9-11, and I don’t know if a *healing* will ever take place in me, but I pray for the lives of those affected in an even more direct fashion, I pray for our firefighters, police officer and our troops… I pray that ALL of America will wake up to the dangers around us and unite in an effort to defeat the evils that threaten our lives and freedoms.

    No matter where that evil comes from!

    I will NEVER forgive and I will NEVER forget!

  5. Speaking to Frankenstein Government’s point, Sure we we’ve mucked about in the Middle East, but decades have essentially nothing to do with it. This is the war that USS Constitution was built to fight. The Pirates of the Barbary Coast (all driven by Islamic belief) go back into history at least to the time of Sir Francis Drake. The difference is that when we won our independence the tribute that Britain paid no longer covered us.

    The only victims I see are those we remember today. The rest of us are their avengers.

  6. Speaking for myself, I don’t really need a video reminder. I CAN’T forget. For those that think this is a past historical event, or were too young to remember, those videos are a must see though.

  7. Nice post. I’d offer that those who don’t want to remember for strange reasons like “sadistic” ones have questionable motives but i’ll leave them to their own devices, we don’t have to give them any time.

    We stand with you America, we will not forget and we will not submit.

  8. Thanks for the post. I remember hearing the news so clearly. The reactions of the people around me were so vivid. I knew in a moment that everything about America was under attack, but that if Americans did not stand up to defend their country, American values, and the American way of life, no one else in the world would. With the murders of these innocents always in mind, I no longer have patience with Americans who would join the chorus–people in the Blame America First group. They would destroy the very things that give them life and allow them to speak.

  9. I’ve never seen any videos of this event. When it happened I was living in another country without TV, internet, newspapers or radio (by choice). Now I’m back home and still haven’t seen anything because I don’t have a TV, but I’ve obviously got internet.

    I’m very selective about what I allow within my “energy field” so to speak – that’s why I don’t do TV and I surf the net cautiously.

    If these videos are extremely depressing, I won’t watch.

Leave a comment